
so you all know by now that this film is in fact the second comming. so instead of writing a traditional review, i'll just give you a quick pro and con list.
PRO
-it demands your attention from frame one. there is not one scene that is fluff or padding, every line of dialogue serves a specific purpose. thus the film is long, butdoesn't overstay it's welcome. it's 2 and a half hours and needed every second of it, not a minute more.
- The Joker is the best villan seen on film since hannibal Lecture. He's the first villan who actually delivers in every way possible. He threatens to blow up a hospital? done. He say's he'll make a pencil dissapear...done. He says he'll get rid of Batman...
- the action was all clear and expertly choreographed. Unlike the first film, which was a jumbled mess of nonsense when it came to the hand to hand battles, here everything is fluid and hartd hitting, and easy to follow. You watch in awe as batman uses the most minimal amount of effort required to put down the villans, and it's a thing of imposing brutal beauty when he attacks.
-Harvy dent/two face was the most complete character in the film. He's given the biggest and smoothest story arc, and is actually given the most character developement out of anyone. My heart broke when he...well, ends up the way he does. And i accepted the rather extreem transition his character goes through.
CONS
-Rachel Daws. Her character is basically there to serve the plot and nothing else, and though they DO take care of her pointless part during the second act, Maggy Gylenhaul is ugly, and i mean that in every sense of the word, though i suppose she's better than Katie Holmes, who was thankfully off somewhere talking to aliens with suri and tom.
- Morgan freemans character seems to pick and choose where his "moral code" starts and stops and it seemed a bit wishy-washy, especially toward the end. but i suppose i can see why director/writer Nolan wanted to keep the amount of characters to a minimum, it's just a shame Lucious seemed to pick the short end of the stick.
-after a certain someone gets knocked off, i wanted to see more of the emotional aftermath, but everyone, especially bruce wayne, seem to get over it pretty quickly. as in, one 4 minute scene later and it's all but forgotten by everyone. that is the one aspect of the film that i felt should have slowed down and taken the time to analyze. All well.
No comments:
Post a Comment